Sign in to follow this  
Jackoffblades

Anyone still do the old school ab training

Does anyone still finish off there training with abbs training? I call it old school because when I first started lifting everyone finished with training abbs. I started training them in first time in probably a year and it got me thinking Iv not seen anyone do them in years 

As much as every other muscle group . Compound Movements don't hit abs anywhere near enough despite like most believe  or try convince themselves .  Most blokes seems to work out that they need to spend inordinate amount of time on chest and ignore abs (+ flexibility,  cardio etc) . Internal and external obliques are barely hit and there is hardly any rotational compound movements Core training is an important muscle group to train.

Just take  a roller wheel at full stretch and see how many you can do or a simple plank , or join an 20min abs class. Seen that many roided up blokes crumple in minutes.  

I do now I'm exercising at home, few times a week I'll chuck a follow along circuit on YT. There has been a really obvious shift in my priorities RE training since the gyms closed, in having to adapt to minimal equipment.. I'm concentrating on bits I've neglected over the years like core work, cardiovascular health, unilateral leg work to try and fix imbalances, and I've started training arms. 

I've mainly been inspired by Fors

3 hours ago, JohhnyC said:

As much as every other muscle group . Compound Movements don't hit abs anywhere near enough despite like most believe  or try convince themselves .  Most blokes seems to work out that they need to spend inordinate amount of time on chest and ignore abs (+ flexibility,  cardio etc) . Internal and external obliques are barely hit and there is hardly any rotational compound movements Core training is an important muscle group to train.