Sign in to follow this  
AntonioM

Bad genetic?

Hello to everyone!

Today I am writing to you to hear your opinions about a personal matter if this is possible.  I have been training naturally for several years now.  I started when i was 19, now I am 26, with few interruptions i.e coronavirus. I think I have bad genetics. I am 5'11 and I weigh about 157-160lbs. I have long limbs, small wrists, high calves insertions, "three fingers gap" biceps and my arms after years of training utilising different volumes, techniques and caloric surplus measure 13,5 inches flexed. Again, small frame, not a tiny waist and prone to store fat easy. Also, my lifts are not getting any stronger. Now the real question. Given that I dedicate a lot of time to this sport but possibly I am not the best candidate to build a good physique, shall I just accept that I am in the wrong game and maybe choose a different sport? I am open to criticism, ideas and so on. Many many thanks to everyone in advance.

You are not alone. Think Peter Crouch to give you an idea of my natural physique. It’s hard but you can build muscle if you are eating enough and training with progressive overload. If you are not adding weight to the bar then insufficient food is the problem 

Thank you very much for your replies. I thought the same actually, that I was not eating enough. I then noted that even increasing calories I just ended up getting extra fat and almost no changes in strength and therefore muscle gain. I was considering maybe just accepting my nature and possibly just aiming for a kind of physique that is smaller but lean? I have no idea, I literally seem to have tried everything. Given the details I gave you about unfavourable genetics, would it be worth it to hire a coach?

3 hours ago, AntonioM said: