Sign in to follow this  
scottysafc

Physics brainteaser

What blows my mind are questions like this - the universe started (apparently) with the 'big bang'.  What was going on before that?  I guess the answer is 'nothing' as time started then. But it's hard to get your mind around that once you live with a concept of time, ie, what was going on an hour before that?....

So far so good, still missing another way though :)

i can't wrap my head around that either. Technically, time travel is possible too. We can do it today.

I don't believe there was 'nothing' 'before' the big bang though.

Stick an bock motor or propeller down into the water and it bores a hole. 

As for the big bang (which isn't without its own problems), it's all very well for mathematics claiming there was nothing before. In which case, where did all the matter and energy originally come from? 

That said, I'm a medical scientist and physics goes over my head. 

18 minutes ago, scottysafc said:

i can't wrap my head around that either. Technically, time travel is possible too. We can do it today.

Coincidence - that was the second conundrum i was thinking about.  Thing is, if it became possible in the future, then that would mean people from the future would be with us now.....  And if you could do it, wouldn't you go back in time and give relatives winning lottery numbers?  Maybe it's already happened?...

7 minutes ago, Seppuku71 said:

Coincidence - that was the second conundrum i was thinking about.  Thing is, if it became possible in the future, then that would mean people from the future would be with us now.....  And if you could do it, wouldn't you go back in time and give relatives winning lottery numbers?  Maybe it's already happened?...

As far as I'm aware, time travel on a macroscopic scale can only be done in one direction: forwards. 

44 minutes ago, Seppuku71 said: