Sign in to follow this  
LostBowie

L-Arginine 1000mg enough?

Hi all, 

I’m relatively new to all of this, so forgive me if I’m asking a stupid question...

I’m currently trying to lose about 5-10% body fat while increasing my lean muscle mass - “culking” to some. I’ve massively increased my protein intake (paying attention to macros), as well as my exercise regime.

I’ve read a lot about the effects of L-Arginine and how this can be extremely beneficial to those who want to achieve the kind of goals I’m setting out for myself. However, I’m worried I might be doing things half-hearted...

I bought a large tub of 1000mg L-Arginine tablets, apparently “enough for a year” (one per day). Is this enough? I’m reading conflicting reports, and it would seem that actually I should be taking considerably more than this! I don’t want to continue wasting these by taking one per day, if the effects will be negligible.

As I said, apologies if this is a ridiculous question, or if it’s been asked a million times - any advice greatly appreciated! 

Lee

what faipdeooiad said but also I'd add it's also bad for you to supplement individual amino acids. 

all proteins are made up of amino acids. When you eat food your body then breaks the protein down into its individual amino acid components: L-Arginine, Histidine, L-Tryptophan etc. 

The body then decides what to do with them. They can all be used for many different things. 

The body will take some of them and put them back together to construct proteins again 

Some of them will be carried away to another part of the body to be combined with other chemicals and become something else

Some of them can become neurotransmitters like dopamine and serotonin

some are precursors to histamine which governs your immune response