Sign in to follow this  
ironmaneye

5k run where to start ?

Right guys. ... I've been thinking about this for a long-time..

I want to work my way up to that. I must admit I'm not a cardio fanatic. I do weights.

My fitness is probably not the greatest but has improved Alot since last year. Still under par though.

So for a complete beginner where's the best place to start? And for those who do weights /bodybuilding how do you incorporate the 2 types of training ?

Thanks

Just run outside at a comfortable pace until you find it hard to breathe and then walk while you catch your breath,  run again.  Aim for 1.5 miles 1st and look to improve slightly on each run,   5K should be achievable within 3 weeks ish.

I'd just go on the treadmill after your training. Start at the slowest speed yo can run before it turns into a walk (about 8kph) once you can do it without stopping for half an hour start putting the speed up.

Newbie gains come fast in cardio. If started similarly, although I've been really fit in my younger years, I don't know if cardio memory is a thing. I was able to continually go faster or further every day until I was at a decent level again. I got down to about 21 mins before I backed of and started concentrating more on weights again.

3 hours ago, Sasnak said:

You don’t need to train to run 3 miles. It’ll probably take you just over half an hour off the bat

Agreed. I started at 42 mins and got it down to 33 mins within a month.

But no matter what I do I can't get it less than 33mins

I found 5k impossible at my heaviest. Shin splints. Breathless.  Slow. I did a marine challenge type thing with some work friends and I was last off the course overall despite looking in the best shape. I even had an old army vet walk/jog with me back to the start while they were packing up. :lol: