Jhey91

Struggling to gain weight!

I'm a total novice when it comes to nutrition and I would like to bulk up by 2 stone. Gaining weight is a real issue for me. It was only at the end of last year I managed to defeat the 10 stone mark. I'm 25 years old, 5"8 and I weigh 11 stone, I have a high protein diet taking on average 184g a day. My job is very active I'm a tree surgeon, I believe this is a big factor in the struggle of gaining the weight. I train 4 days a week, mostly strength, mild cardio to start each session with.

Any particular food or any advice on cal intake day would be much appreciated, as I say I am a total novice.

It doesn't matter how much protein you have, just overall calories determines weight gain or loss, eating 'clean' is all good as long as you can happily eat loads of calories

work out how many calories your eating using my fitness pal and keep adding 300 calories until you gain weight then fine tune from there

if your very active you may need 3500-4000 calories a day to gain weight even at 11 stone

16 hours ago, Jhey91 said:

Any particular food or any advice on cal intake day would be much appreciated,

The simple answer is more than you're currently eating. If you're currently tracking calories then increase your daily calorie intake by 100 kcal each week until you start to gradually gain weight. Fat gain is your ultimate guide to whether you're gaining too fast - a little fat gain is sensible but if you feel you're obviously 'getting fat' then reduce calories. About 0.5% of body weight per week increase is in the right ballpark though.

I would personally forget about having a weight target though, as in my experience this almost always leads to people making themselves fat.