UK-Muscle.co.uk Forum banner
1 - 20 of 608 Posts

·
Eat, Sleep, Train
897 Posts
Hi All,

I am about to start on Wendlers 5/3/1 program.

I have been training on and off since I was 19, I am now 28, and have become very serious about my training over the last 3 years.

Prior to this I had been running a 5X5 routine for around 6 months, then previous to that I had stuck to more of a bodybuilding routine. I am natty, nothing against roids at all, just i have had liver and kidney problems in my teens and have to be checked regarding this, so dont want to risk it.

I run my first Wave of 5/3/1 in June, but have taken some time off since start of July as I got married to the girl of my dreams, had a honeymoon and unfortunately lost my father-in-law , so as you can imagine my priorities have been else where! I have managed to train once maybe twice a week in this period, but am trying to get back to 3 days a week. Whilst on my honeymoon I managed to injure my knee playing of all things - Volleyball, hardly the toughest sport!! It has been checked with the docs and I have been told nothing serious, although I was unable to walk for a week! So this is something I will need to consider when deadlifting and squatting but I'll see how it goes.

I am going to be following the Big but Boring Routine, with a few bits changed. If anyone is interested please feel free to leave any comments or tips!

MP

Military Press - 3 sets of 5 reps (or whatever week you're on)

Military Press - 5 sets of 10 reps

Dips - 5 sets of 10 reps

Deads

Deadlift - 3 sets of 5 reps (or whatever week you're on)

Deadlift - 5 sets of 10 reps

Chins - 5 sets of 10 reps

Bench

Bench Press - 3 sets of 5 reps (or whatever week you're on)

Bench Press - 5 sets of 10 reps

Inc DB/BB Press - 5 sets of 10 reps

Squat

Squat - 3 sets of 5 reps (or whatever week you're on)

Squat - 5 sets of 10 reps

Leg Curl - 5 sets of 10 reps

Hanging Leg Raise - 5 sets of 15 reps

Wave 1 Training maxes (90% of 1rm)