UK-Muscle.co.uk Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Peanut Butter Monster
419 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
ive been training mainly with compounds for a few months, sticking to the madcow routine and had good gains, ive put this routine together with the hope of still gaining size by mainly doin the biglifts,

(mon)

bench 5x5

rows 5x5

barbell curls 2xfailure

(wed)

squats 5x5

weighted chins 5x5

calf raise 3x20

(fri)

stnding ohp 5x5

Deads 5x5

close grip bench 2xfailure

i plan to eat big, and garndually increase the weights each week, not sure wether to keep the weights the same thru the 5x5?? or work up to my heavy set 5? any thoughts???

·
My Protein Discount Code MP2819
5,868 Posts
Aha, the old 'shall I save some gas for the final set' question. Answer is no, you either work a muscle or you don't each time you do not push yourself on a set, its pretty much wasted. Go for a good weight each time aiming to fail on the 5th rep, if you have more in you, do another! don't stop as you have reached your target rep range.

This is the problem with multiple sets of the same reps as inevitably you run out of juice on the 4th and 5th set so end up doing 4,3 or even 2 reps and occasionally you feel super strong on the first set and do 8 or something completely throwing you off.

Just push that iron till you cant safely perform another rep, dont get too obsessed with reps, aim for five but a few either way wont hurt in the long run, your muscle only knows if its worked or not, when you reach at least 5 on all 5 sets, then increase the weight, simple :thumb:

hth

SD

·
Retired
6,805 Posts
IMO...

Start with a 5x5 weight that you can do fairly comfortably. Many a muscle has been built with volume without failure. Increase the weight each session until you stall.... then deload, and repeat.

·
5,868 Posts
big said:
IMO...