UK-Muscle.co.uk Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Newbie Trainer
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi Guys

Im a complete novice when it comes down to training and gym equipment and I need some help getting started with a routine.

Im 24 years old, im 13 stone and i'm 5ft11. I need help on building my arms up there fairly skinny and I need help losing weight on my body, ive got a beer gut which isnt cool and im slowly beginning to get man boobs (they need to go :confused1: )

Its about time I stopped being so lazy and done something about it, So I have recently joined a gym. Because I am not use to lifting weights and not confident with them I am going to stick with the weight machines for now so theres less chances of hurting my self because I dont know what I am doing.

I would appreciate it so much if somebody could put me a routine together focusing on losing weight on my torso and building up muscles on my arms and legs.

Thanks for reading and I look forward to reading you replies :)

·
For 5% off at myprotein.co.uk use code MP15618462
1,360 Posts
In a nutshell. Combine a mixture of cardio and weightlifting, focusing on compound movements such as Bench Press, Shoulder Press, Squat, Deadlift, Pull ups, Dips, Rows.

Start with 12-15 reps and up to 3 set per exercise, until you get your technique spot-on and then start to go heavier once you have the confidence.

Diet and rest is very important, even more so than training itself.

My advice would be, don't go in too hard to begin with, find yourself a good routine, sort your diet out and go from there.

·
"Our Keith's miles bigger than you"
3,176 Posts
How do.

Well done on joining the gym.

5'11'' and 13st aint a bad position to be starting from at all.

You need a complete routine, not just one for arms and legs. Besides, working other muscle groups indirectly work your arms. Problems can arise with posture if you neglect some muscle groups but work others.