UK-Muscle.co.uk Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone,

I'm a relative beginner when it comes to muscle gain, and all things fitness in general. But after many years of telling myself I am unhappy with my body and doing absolutely nothing about it, I've finally decided to kick myself up the backside and actually do something about it.

I'm fortunate in the sense that I have a decent sized empty garage, and have decided that I want to make a sort of home gym. I work from home most days so having a gym at home would be super convenient for me.

I'm quite a skinny dude, especially my arms and chest, but I have naturally beefy legs.

So my question is, does anyone have any equipment reccomendations? The beginner in me says just go out, buy a bench so I can chest press, and some weights. But I know it won't be as simple as that!

I have around £1000 in my budget but would love to spend less.

I've noticed there are a lot of 'multi-gyms' on sites like amazon but I've also been told they are a rip off...

Any advice would be massively appreciated!

·
Premium Member
6,511 Posts
Any advice would be massively appreciated!
IMO best value for money would be a power cage with high & low pulley attachment, a decent adjustable bench (perhaps with leg attachment), 7ft barbell, dumbells and enough weight to get you started.

Maybe add in a second hand cross trainer or similar for warm up & cardio.

Get some stable mats for the garage floor and you should be gtg.

·
Premium Member
1,817 Posts
All you need is a rack, bar and weights. Plus some collars etc..

Everything else is optional.

·
Registered
3 Posts
According to me before buying any fitness kit you should try some exercises that do not need any kit to perform. Some of the basic exercises that can benefit are mentioned below:

• Squats

• Lunges

• Pushups

• Pull-ups

• Rotation