Jamesey

Lateral Raise Advice

10 posts in this topic

I am pretty new to weight lifting and I have been having trouble with lateral raises. It is an exercise I want to get good at because it will help my currently narrow shoulders look a bit wider hopefully. Anyway, I get pain in my right shoulder from this exercise. It feels like a tendon gets strained easily and I can feel the pain for days or weeks afterwards, while I abstain from the exercise, if I move my arm in certain positions. I am only using about a 2kg weight as well which is a small amount.

My question is, is there a way of doing this exercise that will be gentler on my shoulder? I have thought about doing it lying down on my side for example like in this video https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YPgmpY89Rsc

Do you think that would help? Or is there some variation that I haven't considered?

1 hour ago, Jamesey said:

I am pretty new to weight lifting and I have been having trouble with lateral raises. It is an exercise I want to get good at because it will help my currently narrow shoulders look a bit wider hopefully. Anyway, I get pain in my right shoulder from this exercise. It feels like a tendon gets strained easily and I can feel the pain for days or weeks afterwards, while I abstain from the exercise, if I move my arm in certain positions. I am only using about a 2kg weight as well which is a small amount.

My question is, is there a way of doing this exercise that will be gentler on my shoulder? I have thought about doing it lying down on my side for example like in this video https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YPgmpY89Rsc

Do you think that would help? Or is there some variation that I haven't considered?

watch that dude, if you persist you can do damage that can take years (if ever) to heal