YoungBlood

Protein Bars for Newbies

23 posts in this topic

Hi there

Hope you guys can help. im a newbie lifter and im trying to figure out the best protein bar to buy to allow me to get enough protein in each day.

I have read some stuff like that increasing insulin levels is bad over a short period of time.  I am looking at the nutritional stuff on these bars.  Alot of the ingredients seem to be oats and sugars etc

What should I look for a in a protein bar? Should it be low GI, Low carb and low sugar?  If I ate a bar with lots of oats and sugars would it quickly raise my insulin?

Thanks

John

Seriously make your own. The shop ones are full of s**t. 

Protein powder 2/3 scoops

oats 200g

peanut butter 100g

honey 1 table spoon (or sweetener)

chopped dates handful 

maybe some raisens too

mix together and refrigerate. 

You can either have it straight like that. It's more of a sticky flap jack that way. Or bake it for 10 mins for a more firm texture

jacksong likes this

either do the above, but if you cant be arsed, then buy the cheapest with highest protein content

its only one snack when you should be eating more meals anyway, so it wont make much difference,

if your a noobie then most likely you wont be eating enough, so the higher on fats,carbs,protein the better tbh..

dont worry about the other parts like low/high GI, as you wont notice much difference and just need LOTS of food to grow

The few I've bought have all tasted rubbish. Personally I'd just have whey with a normal cake/snack, but as above making your own is another option.

Stop worrying about GI and insulin. Focus on your total daily calorie intake instead.

TinTin10 likes this

On Wednesday, December 21, 2016 at 2:39 PM, 2004mark said:

Being a newbie, why do you think you need protein bars?

I've been training over 15 years and never had one.

And seriously... forget shite like insulin levels until you're preparing for your first show.

100% this ^